Domestic Violence Lawyers in Hillsboro
What Is Considered Domestic Violence?
Domestic violence involves any type of violence, threat, or harmful action committed against a person with whom you share a residence. This may include a romantic partner or spouse, but it could also involve another person within the residence.
In a domestic violence case, it is extremely difficult to know the truth of the situation without being present at the moment. These types of situations can often get out of hand, such as when you and another individual are arguing and someone hears or sees something out of context. At Cornerstone Law Group, we believe you should have the opportunity to tell your side of the story.
Is Domestic Violence a Felony in Oregon?
In Oregon, domestic violence becomes a felony when you have three or more prior convictions for assault. It will then be considered a Class C Felony.
What Constitutes Harassment in Oregon?
In Oregon, harassment includes offensive physical or personal contact. It’s similar to when a person stalks a victim to make them feel miserable, alarmed, or threatened.
There are four main categories of harassment and they are:
Contact a Hillsboro domestic violence attorney today at (503) 461-5005 if you would like to learn more about your rights.
How Long Does a Stalking Order Last in Oregon?
A stalking order in Oregon will last for one year because it is under a restraining order. The abuser can request a hearing within 30 days after they were served with the restraining order. After 30 days, the abuser can only request a hearing dealing to request a less restrictive term.
Domestic Violence Charges in Oregon
In Oregon, domestic violence can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony depending on the circumstances of the alleged crime. If convicted a person could face jail, or prison, time as well as hefty fines.
At Cornerstone Law Group, we can defend clients against accusations of domestic violence, including:
- Physical violence
- Sexual assault
- Child abuse
- Verbal abuse
Why Would a Domestic Violence Case Be Dismissed?
The prosecutor will dismiss cases not the victim. Since the victim does not press the charges, they do not get to drop the charges. Prosecutors will drop cases if they feel as if they do not have enough evidence to prove that they can prove that domestic violence was committed. The prosecutor can still continue the charge even if the victim wants the charges dropped. The prosecutor will drop the charges if evidence such as video, eyewitness testimony, social media, etc. All of the evidence will create a total picture and if the prosecutor believes that it will not persuade a jury, they will drop the charges.
How Long do Domestic Violence Cases Last?
Domestic violence cases can last up to two years if you are participating in the family violence education program.
The court is going to look unfavorably upon defendants who keep picking up arrests and you are not going to get a positive resolution of your case in this manner. The best thing you can do during the case, is to stay out of trouble and to keep a low profile.
Partial Order Vs. No Contact Order
- A “partial” order of protection allows you to have contact with the victim and continue your relationship with the victim, but this order creates grey areas that can open you up for more allegations. A "partial" order states that you can not assault, threaten, harass, or interfere with the victim, and this leaves ambiguity in the words “harass” and “interfere". In some situations victims of domestic violence have been known to use these “partial” orders of protection as swords and turn a minor disagreement into a situation where the accused winds up being arrested for a felony charge of violation of an order of protection based upon exaggerated and false allegations.
- A "no contact" order clearly states that you can not make contact with the victim.
Don't Face the Legal System Alone
When you are dealing with charges of this nature, it is vital that you do not try to defend yourself. Your relationship with your family and your children is potentially on the line and you cannot afford to go without proper representation. Should you choose to hire our firm to represent you, you can rely on us to aggressively defend you from these charges.
Tenacious Domestic Violence Lawyers in Washington County
Our goal is to help you get past the criminal charges you are facing so you can move on without lasting consequences. We are not afraid to work hard to build a strong defense strategy and fight for you in court.
With 35 years of combined experience, we have helped many of our clients achieve positive outcomes for their cases. Domestic violence charges can carry heavy penalties and we are here to help you protect your future and freedom.
If you or someone you love are in legal trouble, do not hesitate to call a Hillsboro domestic violence lawyer at (503) 461-5005 to schedule a consultation.